Livin’ For The city! Activities to Enjoy in the City (MGM) Spring/Summer ‘16


MGM Skyline_from_Northern_Blvd

Being  20-something in the city ain’t easy. Like anyone else my age, I’m always looking for a good time. If I’m able to put it on my Snapchat that’s even better. Live music, Concerts, chillin’ in the park, movie premiers, product/brand launches, and even getting something to eat at the newest eatery are all appealing. We haven’t tackled everything in the Capitol City; however, we do have a few hotspots for chic urban 20-somethings.

I excluded the typical places like the movies, bars, and clubs. No need to share what you already know. Below  is the list I curated for activities to enjoy in Montgomery, AL Spring\Summer ’16:

 

Go Karting & Laser Tag

Indoor Go Karting

Go Karting Montgomery | 9033 Wares Ferry Road | Website

I discovered this gem not too long ago. The pricing is very reasonable and is sure to entertain. I wish they had a food court/truck/etcetera,  but I will give them time to grow. There was a mixed crowd here but it won’t take much creativity to take this experience to the next level.

Indoor Scuba Diving

indoor scuba diving

Adventure Sports II | 1546 East Ann Street | Website

A lot of people are unaware of this dope activity in Montgomery. You have the opportunity to learn something so cool. If you want to try scuba diving before heading on vacation and  getting into the ocean, then you definitely need to give this a try. Groupon has an amazing deal that once split with someone else is $25! You can’t beat that.

Second Saturday

Second Saturday

Riverfront Park | 355 Commerce Street | Website

Every second Saturday during Spring\Summer, you have the opportunity to chill on the riverfront with friends and family. As a college student I was an avid goer; however, once I got a decent job after college, I chose to hang in other cities on Saturday.

This event has so much potential. As a recent college graduate, it doesn’t really appeal to me anymore. I’m so many things this event is not.

The Trampoline Park

Trampoline Park

Rockin’ Jump | 5544 Atlanta Highway & Launch Trampoline Park 402 Twain Curve | Rockin’ Jump  Launch Trampoline

I recently experienced the trampoline park at Rockin’ Jump. I was so tired after jumping for 30 minutes. It was worth it though.

The only drawback is that is popular among those aged 18 under. There were maybe 10 people there around my age actively participating. I think they should host college night or jump after dark for an older crowd. I felt out of place during my experience.

Nevertheless, the massage chairs were amazing. I got a massage TWICE!

Flight Lessons

Flight Class

Box Aviation | 4521 Selma Highway | Website

This activity is rather pricey but it will takes things to the next level for you (pun intended). I’m not sure I can afford this right now but, I’ll just add this to my list of things to try. You don’t have to operate the plane. You can choose to enjoy the scenery from above or take control. Each experience comes with a different price. For more information please visit their website.

A Comedy Show

MC LightFoot

Montgomery Performing Arts Center | 201 Tallapoosa Street |  Website

Looking for a laugh? MC Lightfoot will be in Montgomery, AL, June 25, 2016 at 8PM at the Montgomery Performing Arts Center. Sue me, but I haven’t heard of this comedian before that I can recall. The tickets are reasonably priced, so I may check the show out.

You can get tickets here.

Karaoke

Karaoke

Do Re Mi Karaoke | 2787 Bell Road | Facebook Page

I love Karaoke and thoroughly enjoyed singing my heart out at Do Re Mi. The customer service is amazing, making my return very easy. The best part about this facility is your karaoke time is exclusive to you and your party.

In addition, this place is open late which is perfect for 20-somethings. This place gets five stars for that alone. Reservations are not required but encouraged on the weekend after 9PM.

Food Truck Pop Up

food-truck-pop-up-al

Court Square| 1  South Court Street| Website

We all love to eat right? During the lunch hour on April 29th, you have the opportunity to enjoy a few local favorites in downtown Montgomery around the fountain. Its perfect for anyone that works downtown or is free to check it out. I enjoy eating local so this will definitely be something I check out.

VEG OUT Montgomery

veg-out-montgomery

EAT South Downtown Farm (The Montgomery Advertiser Rear Parking Lot) | 485 Molton Street | Facebook Page

Every Second Tuesday of the month, EAT South host monthly plant-based potluck dinners. March-September at 7PM and October-February at 6PM, you can join EAT South for this event. It seems very interesting and worth the try.

Pub Run

pub-run-ffs-16

Locations Available Below |  Website

Do I drink beer? No, well this one time at a food truck festival but not on a regular. Apparently you get to run ,drink, and fall on your face for this event that occurs quite often which is presented by Fleet Feet Sports. Here are the dates:

April 28th – Blackfinn Ameripub
May 12th – Mellow Mushroom
May 26th – Mellow Mushroom
June 9th – Kudzu Noodle Bar
June 30th – Kudzu Noodle Bar

The best part is that it is free of charge and open to the public. Each run starts at 6PM at the above location. For more information call 334-356-5412.

Live Model Drawing

Live Models Painting

The Sanctuary | 432 South Goldthwaite Street | Facebook Page

For ONLY $10, you can join other artist for live model drawing. You do have to provide your own easel; however, its a small price to pay for kicking it with people who share your interest. The following dates are for 2016:

Dates:
January 24th
February 21st
March 20th
April 17th
May 22nd
June 19th
July 24th
August 21st
September 18th
October 23rd
November 20th
December 18th

For more information, call 334-328-5171.

Gun Range

Rihanna_gun_range2

Montgomery Indoor Shooting Complex | 5765 Carmichael Parkway | Website

Need to let out some steam? Why not do it at the gun range. This activity is affordable and you don’t even need to own a gun to do it. They offer gun rental and specials on certain days as well as a Groupon. There is no excuse why you aren’t livin’ your best life people!

Stock Car Racing

stock car racing

Montgomery Motorsports Speedway | 480 Booth Road | Website

This one is for my speed demons. I am certainly not one. Among my friends, I am referred to as “driving Mrs. Daisy” better put as the slow driver. I just like to be cautious that’s all.

This activity is not too bad in price; however, it can get expensive if you’re looking for a real good time. Groupon has a deal for this activity if you want to try it out. Be sure to visit their website for more information.

If you know of any dope activities not on my list, please us me know. I’m sure the people would like to know as well.

Just be sure you’re livin’ your best life people. We are not promised any day on this Earth!

Until Next Time!

 

 

 

Tell Me What You're Thinking

